Spring 2021:

 

 

“Lulu”

“Lulu” – a dance-music monodrama inspired by the Lulu plays by Frank Wedekind “The Earth Spirit” and “Pandora’s Box”.

 

>>Team

Regie/Choreography/Concept: Staša Zurovac
Music: Alexander Balanescu
On Stage: Andressa Miyazato (Dance)& Alexander Balanescu (Violin) Costumes: Bjanka Adžić Ursulov
Video/Camera: Jonatan Salgado Romero

 

>>About the Project:

My fascination with Wedekind’s Lulu finds its origin in the multidimensional tragedy as well as the beauty of the character herself, who walks the destructive path of her own destiny.

From a femme fatale with a strong need to destroy men, a sexually emancipated woman who uses sex, manipulating natural power of female sexuality to seize power over and take revenge on the world of men, to a very different woman ruled by the bloodstream of harmless, essentially vulnerability emphasizing innocent qualities. A woman who simply is what she is and defies all guidelines.

 

Through several marriages in which each husband dies, Lulu barely reaches the limits of tangibility of her own identity because each husband not only fails to see her as she really is, but tries to project onto her what he wants her to be.

 

Through the prologue and five acts of dance-musical imagery, we traverse Lulu’s dramatic inner journey, plowed by the furrows of tragedy, where the insatiable search for liberation inevitably leads to her own tragic end. Her life is her funeral.

 

In a strong interaction of two souls, one speaking the body and the other the music, to the music of Alexander Balanescu, the piece is performed by Brazilian dance artist and performer, former audition dancer of the Staatstheater Darmstadt and Musiktheater Linz, Andressa Miyazato and violin virtuoso and founder of the world famous Balanescu Quartet, Alexander Balanescu.

 

>The Choreographer: Staša Zurovac Author, choreographer, director and former principal dancer of the Ballet at the Croatian National Theatre (CNT) in Zagreb. He graduated from the Classical Ballet School in Zagreb as a student of prof. Tatjana Lucić-Šarić. He continued his ballet training in Petrograd at the Vaganova Academy, where he graduated as a student of V. K. Onoshko, and at the Ecole Supérieure de Danse Rosella Hightower in Cannes.

 

In 1989 he became a member of the Ballet of the Croatian National Theater in Zagreb, where he collaborated with many world-renowned choreographers: Milko Sparemblek, Martino Müller, Ted Brandsen, Vasco Wellenkamp, Gagik Ismailian, Peter Breuer, Dinko Bogdanic, Patrick Delcroix and many others.

 

He danced leading roles in the following ballets and dance pieces: The Nutcracker, Sleeping Beauty, Coppélia, The Miraculous Mandarin, Faust, Triunfo de Aphrodite, Cantata 66, Dear Life and An Unknown Adventure and others.

 

As a dancer he has performed in Portugal, Italy, the Netherlands, Germany, France, Great Britain, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Austria, Slovenia, Macedonia, Turkey, the USA, Brazil and China.

 

He was a guest dancer and choreographer at the Companhia Portuguesa de Bailado Contemporâneo in Lisbon.

In 1996 he began to work as a choreographer and to create his own works.

From 2003 to 2012 he was the artistic director of the Ballet of the Croatian National Theater Ivan.pl. Zajc in Rijeka, Kroatien.

 

In the last two decades he has created full-length dance and theater productions for, among others. for the National Opera and Ballet Theater in Ljubljana, the National Theater in Belgrade (Serbia), the Croatian National Theater in Split, the Croatian National Theater in Rijeka (Croatia), the Serbian National Theater in Novi Sad, the Slovenian National Theater in Maribor, Ulysses Theater – Brijuni Island, the National Theater in Bitola (Macedonia), the National Opera and Ballet in Skopje Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

 

To date, he has won many awards, such as the “Grand Prix Award” and the “Audience Award” of the 5th Festival of Choreographic Miniatures in Belgrade, the “Croatian Acting Award”, the “Second Award at the 17th International Competition for Choreographers in Hanover”, the “Award of the City of Belgrade”, the “Award of the City of Rijeka” and the “Vladimir Nazor Award”, which is awarded annually by the Croatian Ministry of Culture to Croatian artists for the highest achievements in various artistic fields.

Category
Residency
Tags
contemporary dance, Research, Residency

Spring 2021:

 

 

“Lulu”

“Lulu” – ein Tanz-Musik-Monodrama, inspiriert von den Lulu-Stücken von Frank Wedekind “Der Erdgeist” und “Die Büchse der Pandora”

 

>>Team

Regie/Choreographie/Konzept: Staša Zurovac
Musik: Alexander Balanescu
DarstellerInnen: Andressa Miyazato (Tänzerin)& Alexander Balanescu (Geige) Kostümbildnerin: Bjanka Adžić Ursulov
Video/Kameramann: Jonatan Salgado Romero

 

>>Das Projekt

Meine Faszination für Wedekinds Lulu findet ihren Ursprung in der mehrdimensionalen Tragik sowie in der Schönheit der Figur selbst, die den zerstörerischen Weg ihres eigenen Schicksals geht.

Von einer Femme fatale mit dem starken Bedürfnis Männer zu vernichten, einer sexuell emanzipierten Frau, die Sex nutzt, natürliche Kraft der weiblichen Sexualität manipulierend, um Macht über die Männerwelt zu ergreifen und sich an ihr zu rächen, bis hin zu einer ganz anderen Frau, die vom Blutkreislauf harmloser, im Wesentlichen Verletzlichkeit betonenden, unschuldigen Eigenschaften beherrscht wird. Einer Frau, die einfach das ist, was sie ist und sich allen Vorgaben entzieht.

 

Durch mehrere Ehen, in denen jeder Ehemann stirbt, erreicht Lulu kaum die Grenzen der Greifbarkeit ihrer eigenen Identität, weil jeder Ehemann sie nicht nur nicht so sieht, wie sie wirklich ist, sondern versucht, auf sie zu projizieren, was er von ihr will.

 

Durch den Prolog und fünf tänzerisch-musikalische Bilder-Akte durchlaufen wir Lulus dramatische innere Reise, durchpflügt von den Furchen der Tragödie, auf der die unstillbare Suche nach Befreiung unweigerlich zu ihrem eigenen tragischen Ende führt. Ihr Leben ist ihre Beerdigung.

 

In einer starken Interaktion zweier Seelen, von denen die eine den Körper und die andere die Musik spricht, zur Musik von Alexander Balanescu, wird das Stück von der brasilianischen Tanzkünstlerin und Performerin, der ehemaligen Vortänzerin des Staatstheaters Darmstadt und des Musiktheaters Linz, Andressa Miyazato und dem Geigenvirtuosen und Gründer des weltberühmten Balanescu Quarttets, Alexander Balanescu, aufgeführt.

 

>Der Choreograph: Staša Zurovac Autor, Choreograph, Regisseur und ehemaliger Haupttänzer des Ballets am Kroatischen Natioonaltheater (CNT) in Zagreb. Er absolvierte die Klassische Balletschule in Zagreb als Schüler von prof. Tatjana Lucić-Šarić. Er setzte seine Balletausbildung in Petrograd an der Vaganova- Akademie fort, wo er als Schüler von V. K. Onoschko graduierte, sowie an der Ecole Supérieure de Danse Rosella Hightower in Cannes.

 

Im Jahr 1989 wurde er Mitglied des Ballets des Kroatischen Nationaltheaters in Zagreb, wo er mit vielen weltbekannten Choreographen zusammenarbeitete: Milko Sparemblek, Martino Müller, Ted Brandsen, Vasco Wellenkamp, Gagik Ismailian, Peter Breuer, Dinko Bogdanic, Patrick Delcroix und vielen anderen.

 

Er tanzte Hauptrollen in den folgenden Balleten und Tanzstücken: Der Nussknacker, Dornröschen, Coppélia, Der wunderbare Mandarin, Faust, Triunfo de Aphrodite, Cantata 66, Liebes Leben und Ein unbekanntes Abenteuer und andere.

 

Als Tänzer trat er in Portugal, Italien, den Niederlanden, Deutschland, Frankreich, Großbritannien, Tschechien, Ungarn, Österreich, Slowenien, Mazedonien, der Türkei, den USA, Brasilien und China auf.

 

Als Gasttänzer und Choreograph war er an der Companhia Portuguesa de Bailado Contemporâneo in Lissabon tätig.

Im Jahr 1996 begann er, als Choreograph zu arbeiten und sich mit eigenen Arbeiten zu beschäftigen.

Von 2003 bis 2012 war er der künstlerische Leiter des Ballets des Kroatischen Nationaltheaters Ivan.pl. Zajc in Rijeka, Kroatien.

 

In den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten schuf er abendfüllende Tanz- und Theaterproduktionen u.a. für das Nationale Opern- und Ballettheater in Ljubljana, das Nationaltheater in Belgrad (Serbien), das Kroatische Nationaltheater in Split, das Kroatische Nationaltheater in Rijeka (Kroatien), das Serbische Nationaltheater in Novi Sad, das Slowenische Nationaltheater in Maribor, Ulysses Theater – Insel Brijuni, das Nationaltheater in Bitola (Mazedonien), die Nationale Oper und das Ballet in Skopje (Mazedonien).

 

Bis heute hat er viele Preise gewonnen, wie z.B. den “Grand Prix Award” und den “Audience Award” des 5. Festivals der choreographischen Miniaturen in Belgrad, den “Croatian Acting Award”, den “Second Award beim 17. Internationalen Wettbewerb für Choreographen in Hannover”, den “Award der Stadt Belgrad”, den “Award der Stadt Rijeka” und den “Vladimir Nazor Award”, der jährlich vom kroatischen Kulturministerium an kroatische Künstler für höchste Leistungen in verschiedenen künstlerischen Bereichen verliehen wird.

Category
Residencies
Tags
contemporary dance, Research, Residency