Spring 2021:

 

 

“FEAR(FUL)LESS”

FEAR(FUL)LESS

 

Jerca Rožnik Novak: Dance and choreography 

Damian Cortes Alberti: Direction and choreography

Zala Dobovšek: Dramaturgy 

Produced by Plesni Teater Ljubljana 

Date of Premiere: 08.09.2021 Plesni Teater Ljubljana 

 

 

” I’m afraid of everything … I’m afraid of people, I’m afraid of relationships, I’m afraid of taxes, I’m afraid of meetings, I’m afraid of washing dishes, I’m afraid of boredom, I’m afraid of injury, I am sometimes really afraid of myself, I’m afraid of car rides , I’m afraid to drive, I’m afraid of a non-existent jobs, I’m afraid of shopping for clothes, I’m afraid of longer car rides, and short car rides, I’m afraid of emails, I’m afraid of telephone calls, I’m afraid of visiting the bank, I’m afraid of performances, I’m afraid of the lab- blood giving, I’m afraid of rehearsals, I’m afraid of auditions, I’m afraid of unannounced meetings, I’m afraid of the house renovation, I’m afraid  of closeness, I am afraid of our dog, I’m afraid of my grandfather’s death, I am afraid of the doctors appointment,  I’m afraid of new people with “normal” jobs, I am afraid of fighting with my family, or friends, actually I am afraid of fighting with anybody, I am afraid of failing, of success, of wrong and right, I am afraid of getting sick, I am afraid of online shoping, I am afraid of cooking a meal for someone, I’m afraid of everything that has been, will be, and may never happen at all,

I’m afraid, I’m afraid … I’m even afraid of this solo.

 

Creating problems and solutions to non-existent problems is my special ability. Fear is a basic survival mechanism. A mechanism that is triggered when a person is in danger. Fear is the ability to recognize danger and leads to the decision: to face danger or escape. This emotion and response are innate in us. We are born with fear. The real problem, arises when people react with fear not only to actual danger but also to expected, imaginary dangers. Poor body, it thinks it’s running away from the lion, but it’s just running away from washing the dishes. A sense of dread, a sense of imminent threat, with no actual danger. We can shake fear off, make fun of it with impunity, and make fun of ourselves. Interesting, we are able to bring ourselves to such adrenaline levels without having to face the real danger.

The piece explores fear as a concept framed in movement, dance and elements of theater.

A humorous approach to one of the darkest emotions. The performance is self-reflective and addresses all those who are afraid of something, are aware of it and may even find it unnecessary to be afraid, and yet they are. What is the difference between feeling fear and creating fear, how would fear look like as a character? How does the body react to fear and how does the body get rid of fear? The performance is a process of dealing with the fears for the dancer, however it as well offers a platform for the audience to recognize themselves in a dancer and refract on fears they have. “

Category
Residency
Tags
contemporary dance, Research, Residency

Sommer 2021:

 

 

“FEAR(FUL)LESS”

FEAR(FUL)LESS

 

Jerca Rožnik Novak: Dance and choreography

Damian Cortes Alberti: Direction and choreography

Zala Dobovšek: Dramaturgy

Produced by Plesni Teater Ljubljana

Date of Premiere: 08.09.2021Plesni Teater Ljubljana

 

” Ich habe Angst vor allem … Ich habe Angst vor Menschen, ich habe Angst vor Beziehungen, ich habe Angst vor Steuern, ich habe Angst vor Meetings, ich habe Angst vor dem Abwasch, ich habe Angst vor Langeweile, ich habe Angst vor Verletzungen, ich habe manchmal wirklich Angst vor mir selbst, ich habe Angst vor Autofahrten, ich habe Angst vor dem Autofahren, ich habe Angst vor einem nicht existierenden Job, Ich habe Angst vor dem Einkaufen von Kleidung, ich habe Angst vor längeren Autofahrten und kurzen Autofahrten, ich habe Angst vor E-Mails, ich habe Angst vor Telefonaten, ich habe Angst vor Bankbesuchen, ich habe Angst vor Auftritten, ich habe Angst vor der Blutabnahme im Labor, ich habe Angst vor Proben, ich habe Angst vor Vorsprechen, ich habe Angst vor unangekündigten Treffen, ich habe Angst vor der Hausrenovierung, ich habe Angst vor Nähe, ich habe Angst vor unserem Hund, ich habe Angst vor dem Tod meines Großvaters, ich habe Angst vor dem Arzttermin, ich habe Angst vor neuen Leuten mit “normalen” Jobs, ich habe Angst vor Streit mit meiner Familie oder Freunden, eigentlich habe ich Angst davor, mich mit irgendjemandem zu streiten, ich habe Angst vor dem Versagen, vor dem Erfolg, vor falsch und richtig, ich habe Angst davor, krank zu werden, ich habe Angst vor dem Online-Shopping, ich habe Angst davor, ein Essen für jemanden zu kochen, ich habe Angst vor allem, was war, was sein wird und was vielleicht gar nicht passieren wird, Übersetzt mit www.DeepL.com/Translator (kostenlose Version)

Ich habe Angst, Ich habe Angst… Ich habe sogar vor diesem Solo Angst.

Probleme und Lösungen für nicht existierende Probleme zu schaffen, ist meine besondere Fähigkeit Angst ist ein grundlegender Überlebensmechanismus. Ein Mechanismus, der ausgelöst wird, wenn eine Person in Gefahr ist. Angst ist die Fähigkeit, Gefahr zu erkennen und führt zu der Entscheidung: sich der Gefahr zu stellen oder zu fliehen. Dieses Gefühl und diese Reaktion sind uns angeboren. Wir werden mit Angst geboren. The real problem arises when people react with fear not only to actual dangers, but also to expected, imagined dangers. Armer Körper, er denkt, er läuft vor dem Löwen weg, aber er läuft nur vor dem Abwasch weg. Ein Gefühl des Schreckens, ein Gefühl der unmittelbaren Bedrohung, ohne dass eine tatsächliche Gefahr besteht. Wir können die Angst abschütteln, uns ungestraft über sie lustig machen und uns über uns selbst lustig machen. Interessant, dass wir in der Lage sind, uns auf solche Adrenalinspiegel zu bringen, ohne uns der realen Gefahr stellen zu müssen.

Das Stück erforscht Angst als Konzept, das in Bewegung, Tanz und Theaterelementen eingerahmt ist.

Eine humorvolle Annäherung an eine der dunkelsten Emotionen. Die Aufführung ist selbstreflexiv und richtet sich an alle, die sich vor etwas fürchten, sich dessen bewusst sind und es vielleicht sogar unnötig finden, Angst zu haben, und es doch tun. Was ist der Unterschied zwischen dem Fühlen von Angst und dem Erzeugen von Angst, wie würde die Angst als Figur aussehen? Wie reagiert der Körper auf Angst und wie wird der Körper die Angst wieder los? Die Performance ist ein Prozess der Auseinandersetzung mit den Ängsten für den Tänzer, bietet aber auch eine Plattform für das Publikum, sich in einem Tänzer wiederzuerkennen und auf eigene Ängste zu reflektieren. ” Übersetzt mit www.DeepL.com/Translator (kostenlose Version)

Category
Residencies
Tags
contemporary dance, Research, Residency